Skip navigation

IMG_2897

According to TripAdvisor, visiting the Salar Jung Museum rates #4/193 things to do in Hyderabad. So that’s how I chose to spend my Thursday. Normally, I flock to the painting section anytime I visit a museum, but this time I rented the audio guide (~$1) and took my time exploring everything. Except the clock. Apparently, there is this amazingly detailed musical clock by Cook and Kelvey Co. in 19th century England that activates and begins chiming 4 minutes before the hour. I was so engrossed in admiring other galleries, that I forgot to go see the clock during every one of my 3 opportunities.

But I did snap some pics of these items that spoke to me in some way.

IMG_2871

IMG_2876

Ivory carved balls within balls within balls

IMG_2878

Elephants carved from an ivory tusk

IMG_2880

XL pizza-sized necklace for an elephant

IMG_2893

19th century air twisted stemware

IMG_2884

Father of Emperor Shah Jahan (who built the Taj Mahal)

IMG_2888

Double-sided wood carved statue

IMG_2891

The priceless glass-polishing crew hard at work.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

.   .   .

After the museum I wandered around a bit before catching my ride home. I found the motherload of shoes as I traveled blocks down shoe alley! Then I passed through 3-4 more blocks of wedding stationery stores.

IMG_2901

The corner store at the beginning of shoe alley

IMG_2899

Need a door?

IMG_2904

Leave a Reply

