Skip navigation

I started my birthday week with a trip to Jewel of Nizam for dinner with Cheng. I thought I should wear something to roll with the “jewel” theme so I chose my blingy-est fancy suit for this special occasion. Sadly, the biryani didn’t impress us as much as recommendations had led us to expect. We did enjoy a tender lamb appetizer and an interesting creamy onion halwa for dessert.

IMG_3311

On my actual birthday (a Tuesday) I had a yummy breakfast of idli, sambar, and chutney. The staff here at Falcon’s Nest has been really thoughtful about making sure I have something gluten-free available for breakfast. If the menu of the day doesn’t offer dosa, idli or uttapam, they will gladly make me an onion omelette. My favorite days are when they make vada, or fried doughnut shaped things made from lentil flour. I really love having so many savory breakfast options!

IMG_3355After work, Cheng picked up my favorite dinner of biryani and fresh flowers for me to wear! We weren’t exactly sure if these types of flowers in these arrangements are considered culturally appropriate for birthday giving, but since fresh flowers fit with our culture, we went with it.

IMG_3360

 

Then, to cap off Birthday Week 2015, I hosted a puzzle night in the private party room at The Chocolate Room near our apartments.  I think our friends didn’t fully realize what they were getting into, but they performed extraordinarily well for puzzle newbies. I had them split into 2 teams of 3 and 4. Cheng and I monitored their progress and offered hints as necessary. It turns out they were pretty evenly matched because both teams finished within 10 minutes of each other. Wow, the competitiveness in the room surprised me! I witnessed squeals, beatings, and even couch vaulting to hide discoveries.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanks for another memorable birthday week!

*View all the photos here.

One Comment

  1. Looks like you had a great week!


Leave a Reply

