Skip navigation

Practice started off pretty normal with everyone cleating up and throwing around.

.   .   .

Then Om shared the horrible

.

awful

.

scary

.

news.

.   .   .

He had a flat tire! Oh no!

IMG_3422

Om has been lovely, giving me a ride home when practice ends at 9pm so I don’t have to cab it, so the very least I could do was offer some sage wisdom I learned from my dad. Having never actually changed a tire myself, I really only knew how to do it in theory. But just like that time I learned how to ride the subway in Budapest, this all worked out fine.

First we tried a portable air pump Anand lent us, but that didn’t seem to be working properly. Then I let the three of them stare at the tire for a bit before showing them how to use that funny, flat edged tool to pop off the hubcap. (yes, the tire crowbar.) Although I quickly stopped Om from throwing his back out trying to loosen the lugnut by showing him how to flip the crowbar the other way and stand on it.

IMG_3426

Then it was time for these 3 engineers to figure out the jack. I knew it should go on the frame, but I wasn’t sure exactly where. Also, I had never seen this type of jack before so I was all out of advice. After crawling under the car for a while, Om finally went inside and recruited a couple of actual engineers (I just made that up. I’m not sure what their jobs were) to assist in the jack placement.

IMG_3429Eventually, we got the tire changed, did a happy dance, and cheered all around before heading home.

One Comment

  1. Nice work!


Leave a Reply

